I was determined to immerse myself in the culture of the people every time I would travel. But in order to do this, ample time of stay should be needed. Since I did not have much of it, I resolved to go around the city by walking. I asked for a free map from the hostel but it was not clear as it was just a photocopy, nonetheless, it helped me a lot. I got lost most of the time, though. I think I needed to learn more on how to use the map correctly. However, getting lost turned out to be a nice experience, too. I found charming architecture around the quarter, the parks are everywhere and pre-nup photo shoots seemed never ending. You will see gorgeous Vietnamese ladies in their traditional costume called áo dài in the park. These were good sights to behold especially that these kind of stuff were very new to me.

The beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem LakeThe beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem Lake
The beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem LakeThe beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem LakeThe beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem Lake

The beautiful and popular Hoan Kiem Lake

Hoan Kiem Lake is the main point of interest in Hanoi. As this is recognized by everybody, this has become my landmark so when streets became complicated and I lost track of where I am, I just asked for the direction going to Hoan Kiem Lake. Even if language is a barrier just mentioned the name Hoan Kiem Lake, and voila you are understood.

Across Hoan Kiem lake and just near the Post Office, another park is located. This is Ly Thaito Park. This is also wide and again another favorite place for pre-nup photo shoots.

Ly Thaito Park just across Hoan Kiem LakeLy Thaito Park just across Hoan Kiem LakeLy Thaito Park just across Hoan Kiem Lake

Ly Thaito Park just across Hoan Kiem Lake

And here is another favorite, the Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum and the surrounding area. I enjoyed looking at this wide square and the elders doing their simple exercise by walking back and forth. There were families enjoying as well, father walking hand in hand with his children, daughter taking photos of the family and the beautiful and well-maintained gardens.

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum in HanoiHo Chi Minh Mausoleum in Hanoi
Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum in HanoiHo Chi Minh Mausoleum in Hanoi

Ho Chi Minh Mausoleum in Hanoi

Hanoi Flag Tower is one of the symbols of Hanoi. I did not climb up the tower, I stayed in the Lenin Park instead. It was 3 in the afternoon when I visited the park, the elderly were enjoying their board games and their cute pet dogs, kids with skateboard, and just feeling myself being in there and enjoying every moment.

Flag Tower of Hanoi and souroundingsFlag Tower of Hanoi and souroundingsFlag Tower of Hanoi and souroundings
Flag Tower of Hanoi and souroundingsFlag Tower of Hanoi and souroundingsFlag Tower of Hanoi and souroundings

Flag Tower of Hanoi and souroundings

We get used with our daily routines that almost make us unaware of what is happening in our surroundings. Traveling especially alone stimulates curiosity. The freshness of experience in other places appears to be very special even if we only come into contact with ordinary things.

I was astounded every time I need to cross the street because of the huge number of motorbikes. But behind the dread I enjoyed watching them dashed on the street as if they were on a race. I always linger for a while waiting for the next green light so I could watch them go. It was so vibrant!

I passed through the street filled with artworks. Beautiful paintings were displayed delightfully. These were very pleasant to see. I happened to notice a movie theatre as well offering local films. And of course, for shopaholic there are many boutiques ranging from winter clothes and other stylish clothing. Not sure of the prices though.

Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)
Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)

Random scenes on the streets of Hanoi with my selfie (*‿*✿)

(*⌒▽⌒*)θ~♪ (*⌒▽⌒*)θ~♪ till next travel memories (*⌒▽⌒*)θ~♪ (*⌒▽⌒*)θ~♪

Back to home page