Powered by 12Go Asia system

Welcome to Banaue!!!

Planning a trip to see the carved mountains of Ifugao? Go ahead because the Ifugao Region will not disappoint you!

Book your bus from Manila to Banaue here.

This is my first time to travel alone and I am so excited! Of course I still have reservations but I have to do this as I really wanted to be alone in my solitude with nature. After 2 months of preparation I embarked on my journey to Ifugao on the mountainous region in the Northern part of the Philippines.

The bus arrived early in the morning and eventually the Banaue Tourist Information Center was immediately packed with tourists which are both locals and foreigners. I walked down to the market which is just very close to the center and have my breakfast. I would also recommend that before deciding to take a package tour try to search around the market for possible cheaper options. There are vans, trikes and jeepney available. Make sure to practise your haggling skill beforehand. I have learned from my experience, now I know what to do next time.

Now, is it fun to travel alone? Here are my answers -

Scenic view on the way to Hapao Rice Terraces, Ifugao, Philippines

Scenic view on the way to Hapao Rice Terraces, Ifugao, Philippines

Trekking through spectacular rice terraces.

Trekking through spectacular rice terraces.

I met two Filipinos who made me laugh all the time during our hike to Batad Village especially while going up and down on the terraces and on our way to Tapiyah Falls.

Hike going to Batad during the time was not easy and especially going back as you will be hiking up. Bring more water.

Moment to capture the best of Batad.Moment to capture the best of Batad.

Moment to capture the best of Batad.

There are stops while trekking and I called it photo shoot stops because these are the places where one gets to see and enjoy the whole village.

There are stops while trekking and I called it photo shoot stops because these are the places where one gets to see and enjoy the whole village.

Food and drinks are expensive. (But, of course, try to hike with the heavy bags at your back.)

The native's traditional house. I spotted while I was wandering around and would like to go all the way down to the base of the mountain. I realized it was far.

The native's traditional house. I spotted while I was wandering around and would like to go all the way down to the base of the mountain. I realized it was far.

Imagine, to wake up and begin your day with this gorgeous sight from your window. Such a good vibes to begin with! The sight can be very ordinary for the locals. I was not surprised to hear “just ordinary for us” reply when I commended how beautiful the place was. Well, they’ve been here all their life, beauty is part of everyday lives here and it is very natural for human being to fancy for something different. It explains too why there are many who are fascinated with other cultures other than their own. And that’s including me!

Imagine, to wake up and begin your day with this gorgeous sight from your window. Such a good vibes to begin with! The sight can be very ordinary for the locals. I was not surprised to hear “just ordinary for us” reply when I commended how beautiful the place was. Well, they’ve been here all their life, beauty is part of everyday lives here and it is very natural for human being to fancy for something different. It explains too why there are many who are fascinated with other cultures other than their own. And that’s including me!

At last we arrived in Tapiyah Falls. The water was very called for me so I just contented myself in soaking my feet.At last we arrived in Tapiyah Falls. The water was very called for me so I just contented myself in soaking my feet.At last we arrived in Tapiyah Falls. The water was very called for me so I just contented myself in soaking my feet.

At last we arrived in Tapiyah Falls. The water was very called for me so I just contented myself in soaking my feet.

Hapao River and just beside it is the hotspring.Hapao River and just beside it is the hotspring.

Hapao River and just beside it is the hotspring.

Ifugao has lots of activities to offer. Just ask.

That was an invigorating trip!

'till next travel memories.

Powered by 12Go Asia system
Back to home page