It has been 4 days since I arrived from the 12 short days of Vietnam-Cambodia tour. Travelling solo as a woman can be challenging but is an ultimate liberation. Before I leave, these are some of the comments I have heard:

"How about picture taking, who is going to take for you? Monopod will save you. And beside, there is always someone who is willing to give you a favor and in return you can do the same for them. And anyway, taking pictures is not really the goal of travelling, sometimes this becomes an interference in enjoying the moments.

Mine were taken by the Filipinos I have met, William and Cherry, they are based in Singapore right now. Also by the Chinese couple whom I met in Phnom Phen but my apologies I did not asked their names. It was a pleasure meeting you guys.

The lovely Halong Bay in Hanoi and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh as the backgrounds.
The lovely Halong Bay in Hanoi and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh as the backgrounds.
The lovely Halong Bay in Hanoi and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh as the backgrounds.

The lovely Halong Bay in Hanoi and Royal Palace in Phnom Penh as the backgrounds.

"It might be sad travelling alone." While this is true for some instances, this couldn't ruin the whole trip. Just like the everyday regular life, happiness is always a choice. Create opportunities that could lift your mood. For instance, I watch families travelling together, instead of feeling sad because I was alone, I honestly smiled watching them taking pleasure of their trip. In my mind, I planned to give the same pleasure to my family in the future.

The Malaysian family I've met in Halong Bay and the new found Filipino friends.The Malaysian family I've met in Halong Bay and the new found Filipino friends.

The Malaysian family I've met in Halong Bay and the new found Filipino friends.

"Is it safe?" This comment is usually coming from the family and close friends. At the moment, I can answer, YES! There are always good and kind people around. As a Christian, I believe that God has been with me all throughout my trip.

The hostel door has a double locked with a free and simple but delicious breakfast (I really like the bread, strawberry jam and butter). The street foods were delicious too. The soup was ... you have to taste it, my words are not enough for the descriptions. However, I can not recommend what to eat because I honestly do not know their names. I was hungry, hence no time to ask and anyway they do not understand me and I do not understand them as well. I haven't got any stomach trouble. The vegetables and fruits are fresh and not frozen just like the ones in the expensive restaurant. And as a bonus, you get to feel the culture of the locals.

Places like Hanoi, Ho Chi Minh City, Phnom Penh and Siem Reap are always packed with tourists. Loosing things can always be possible, thus it is your responsibility to take good care of your belongings.

I love the feeling while I was in the Tuk tuk or motorcycle but I really had hard time crossing the street.

Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.
Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.
Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.

Ordinary days in the streets of Hanoi with the door of my hostel and the free breakfast they served.

More travel memories coming up! :)

Back to home page